“Recent Dismissal of District Chiefs and Alkalolu Were Political “Hon Alhagie H Sowe


By Aramata Jatta

The Local Government minister was taking to task by deputies over the retirement of some Chiefs and removal of others. The member for Jamara constituency Hon Alhagie H Sowe said in his intervention that The then Chief of Jimara was Alh Abubacarr Camara who was removed because of being a member of the APRC party, and he was replaced by Kanimang Sanneh who am sure is not the right person to be the Chief of Jimara. Hon Sowe told the local government minister that he can say for certain that Sanneh’s appointment was based on his loyality to President Barrow for his personal interest only.
Hon Sowe went on to say the former Chief of Sandu who is late now, was accused of being a loyalist to GDC and that was his reason of removal and replace by Junu Bah who was following President Barrow for his personal interest.

The minister also talk about retirement which if it was the case then most of the Chiefs should go for retirement including him Kanumang Sanneh and Junu Bah, who ate both very old, Sowe said.

The parliamentary question was posed by Hon. Halifa Sallah National Assembly Member for Serekunda, asked the Minister of Lands, Regional Government & Religious Affairs to Hon. Musa Drammeh indicated the names of the Seyfulo and Alkalolu who have been removed from their positions and those appointed since President Barrow assumed office and the reasons for their removal.
He asked this questions yesterday at the Assembly chambers in Banjul during the questions for oral answers of the second ordinary session in the 2019 legislative year of the National Assembly
The honorable Minister responded that the removal or retirement of the said Seyfolu and Alkalolu was to uphold public interest and proper public administration

He Indicated Names of Seyfolu who were removed from office. Such as Mam Demba Jallow of Sami District replaced by Morro Jawla, Alh. Sait Gaye – Sabach Sanjal District – replaced by Malick Boye, Ebou Colley – Foni Bondali District –replaced Omar Colley, Alh. Modu ceesay – Upper Saloum District – replaced by Demba Sey, Ho Alh. Babucarr Camara – Jimara District – replaced by Kanimang Sanneh, – Alh. Basirou Lorry Bah – Sandu District replaced by Alh. Junu Bah, Bakary Badjie Foni Bondali District replaced by Ebou Colley, Basirou Jarjou – Kombo East District replaced by Bakary Sanyang, and Sheriff Ajai Jammeh-Kombo South replaced by Lamin Darboe
Attached here are Alkalolu who were removed Mahmud Faye –Alkalo of Old Yundum was replaced by Mr. Burr Jassey public interest and proper administration, Nuha Kujabie Alkalou of Faraba Bantan was replaced by Omar Kujabie as a recommendation of the Faraba Bantan Commission of Enquiry .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here